Fresh Gluten-Free Pasta with Pesto

September 18, 2008

When I started limiting wheat in my diet I was most bummed out about fresh crusty bread, pizza and pasta. I’ve discovered a delicious (and simple) GF french bread recipe from Bette Hagman’s “More From the Gluten Free Gourmet.” I have yet to find a pizza crust I really like but I have discovered pasta. I also found the deliciousness of fresh pasta that I had heard about but thought would be too hard to make.

I came across a gluten-free pasta recipe and decided to try it. I’m amazed at how simple it is to make. I mix it mostly in my Kitchen Aid mixer and cut it by hand- usually fettuccini since it’s the quickest. Feel free to add any chopped herbs with the flour or try different flavored oils for a nice twist.

Gluten-Free Pasta

serves 4-6 people

2 cups amaranth or quinoa flour or a combination of both
1 1/4 cup tapioca flour
2 eggs
2 Tbsp olive oil or flavored oil
2-4 Tbsp water -I usually need to use a little more

Stir together flours in large mixing bowl. Make a well in the center and add remaining ingredients. Continue mixing until it starts to form a ball. Place on floured surface an knead until smooth and elastic (5-10min). Wrap in plastic wrap and let rest for 20 minutes. Roll out thinly and cut into preferred shape. Cook in boiling water approximately 4 minutes.
*adapted from http://www.recipes4us.co.uk

Homemade Pesto

2 cups packed fresh basil -washed and dried
2/3 cup olive oil
2/3 cup pine nuts
1/3 cup fresh Parmesan
2 large garlic cloves
1/2 tsp. salt

Process in food processor until well blended. Keeps 1 week in the fridge or 1 year in the freezer.

3 Responses to “Fresh Gluten-Free Pasta with Pesto”

  1. Palmariello Says:

    Choose from a pasta with pesto match is very important!


  2. Well I think our family has found a pizza crust that everyone likes! My son has Asperger’s syndrome and have him on a gluten free diet which has been so helpful. I started using Bette Hagman’s Foccacia Bread recipe from Gluten free gourmet cooks fast and healthy that my mom got me for christmas. I first tried it alone, and then thought this would be even better as a crust for pizza. The only thing I have changed is I use corn starch instead of tapioca flour and add my own seasonings, garlic, rosemary, basil, etc. It has gotten a thumbs up from all family members even my husband. I actually bake them for 10-12 minutes cool them put all toppings on and then freeze to have when we need a quick dinner or lunch.


Leave a Reply

