Concord Grape Sorbet

September 30, 2008

 

 

After moving last fall my sister had a bumper crop of concord grapes from the grape vine she inherited. Since she did not have the time or desire to do anything with them I gladly took a couple bags full.

I had made grape jam in the past and remembering how time consuming canning it seemed to be, I decided to find something else to make with them. Sorbet and a grape reduction sauce were what I was thinking. I wasn’t sure what I would do with the reduction sauce (crepes maybe?) but I wanted to try it. However I let it get away with me and it turned to jam. So I promptly put it in a jar in the fridge.

On to sorbet. It was actually quite simple although I had to make it over the course of several days due to time constraints. It was delicious for those last few hot days left of summer. Make sure before you begin that you have your ice cream maker already prepared.

Grape Sorbet

4 lbs concord grapes
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup water

(Some recipes add 1 Tbsp. vodka to the recipe to keep it from getting too frozen. I chose to leave it out. Just take it out a few minutes before you want to serve it and it scoops just fine. 

Combine all ingredients into a large pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 – 15 minutes. Stir and mash grapes occasionally with a potato masher.

Pour into a sieve or colander lined with cheese cloth set over a large bowl. Let sit for several hours or overnight in the fridge, stirring and mashing occasionally to extract all the juice. Some sediment will form and can be restrained through cheesecloth again if desired. You should have about 4 cups juice. It is quite sweet so you can add water to your taste. Pour juice into ice cream maker and mix according to the manufacturers instructions. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Concord Grape Sorbet”

  1. Shiloh Says:

    Hi there! I tried your concord grape sorbet and was wondering what I did wrong. My sorbet became pink and to foamy. Any ideas?

  2. cfwhitney Says:

    I think this could have been caused by boiling it at too high a temperature instead of simmering it. From what I’ve read, if this happens you can let it cool a bit and skim the foam off the top and then finish. Hope this helps. Let me know!


Leave a Reply

