Herbal Mint Tea

July 26, 2009

MintTea.3235

 

Let me start off by saying I’m not a tea expert.

After wondering how to make tea with my fresh mint that was growing like crazy, I decided to just try something. I started simply, just because I didn’t know what else to do. It actually ended up being just the way I like it. My recipe….

Several (3 – 5) sprigs fresh mint (spearmint, peppermint, any mint will do)
Several cups (about 5) filtered water

Crush the mint leaves in your hand so the leaves are slightly bruised to release some extra mint flavor. Put them into a pot and cover with water. Heat the water until it almost boils. Then remove and let sit several minutes – some prefer only 5 minutes- I’ve left it 45 minutes before and it still tasted delicious. I usually let it come close to room temperature before I remove the mint leaves and pour the tea over ice (you might want to use a small strainer). It could also be drunk hot if preferred. Some add sugar to their tea but I prefer it unsweetened.

That’s it. Very simple and very refreshing.

Leave a Reply

