Menu of the Week – Week 5

September 9, 2014

It’s that time again. Menu of the Week – Week 5. I tried a couple new recipes this week and they will definitely become regulars. Oh so tasty. It still makes me giddy just thinking about it! Yes, I am a bit of a food geek. There is just something about having familiar ingredients in new combinations and having that instant YUM factor when you take that first bite and the second and third.

One of these recipes is a Sweet Corn Fritter with Roasted Pepper Romesco Sauce. The fritters are a delightful combination of sweet corn and fresh basil. I don’t think I’ve ever had those two things baked together before. Separately – sure – regular sweet corn with a side of Caprese Salad. I’ve even put pesto on my sweet corn. But baked together and crisp it was so delicious. And the Roasted Pepper Romesco Sauce was delicious with it. The sauce was another new combination for me. I’ve had regular romesco sauce before – but never with roasted peppers. Yum, yum, yum!!

The other new recipe is a Thai Noodle Salad. Eaten with a super yummy grilled tofu. I am a bit bummed out though that I winged it with the marinade for the tofu and didn’t write down what I put in it. I know it was simple – some combination of lime juice, tamari and fresh ginger. Maybe something else…. I love when I have those throw it together moments that end up being a tasty surprise but I do hope I can replicate it. The Thai Noodle Salad was simple as well with fresh ginger and mint flavors.

Loving the tastes of late summer. I wish it could last forever! Hot summer days, delicious food and lemonade! And maybe some wine. Any way, on to the menu. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

 

SUNDAY

Chilaquiles – a tasty baked dish of layered tortillas, beans in a tomato sauce and cheese (if you like)
Chips & Guac


MONDAY

Twice Baked Potatoes with toppings
Lettuce Salad


TUESDAY

Grilled Hoagies
Veggies & Hummus
Fresh Fruit


WEDNESDAY

Bean Burgers – Chickpea, black bean, pinto bean- whatever you like
Baked French Fries
Watermelon


THURSDAY

Wild Rice Soup
Salad
French Bread or Biscuits


FRIDAY

Thai Noodle Salad
Grilled tofu


SATURDAY

Sweet Corn Fritters with Roasted Pepper Romesco Sauce
Broccoli
Baked Sweet Potato Fries or Chunks

Leave a comment